University of California, Santa Cruz

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

People

Michael D. Stone

Associate Professor Biochemistry and Chemistry

B.A. University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D. UC Berkeley
Postdoc: Harvard University 

email: mds@ucsc.edu

 

 

Clive Bagshaw

Research Associate

(Emeritus Professor of Physical Biochemistry 
University of Leicester, UK)

email: cbagshaw@ucsc.edu

 

Shankar Shastry

Postdoctoral Researcher

B.E. National Institute of Technology
Ph.D.  Penn State University, Bioengineering

email: sshastry@ucsc.edu

Joe Parks

Graduate Student, Chemistry 

B.S. Biochemistry, University of Portland

email: jowparks@ucsc.edu

 

Linnea Jansson

Graduate Student, Molecular, Cell, Developmental Biology

B.S. Neuroscience, UC Santa Cruz

email: ljansson@ucsc.edu

 

Cherie Musgrove

Graduate Student, Microbiology and Environmental Toxicology

B.S. Biochemistry, University of the Pacific

email: cmusgro@ucsc.edu

 

Christina Palka

Graduate Student, Program in Biomedical Sciences and Engineering 

B.S. Molecular Biology, Southern Illinois University of Edwardsville

email: cpalka@ucsc.edu

Terren Chang                            

Graduate Student,  Program in Biomedical Sciences and Engineering

email: trchang@ucsc.edu

 

Michael Yxcot

Undergraduate, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

email: myxcot@ucsc.edu

Gabriella Estevam

Undergraduate, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

email: gestevam@ucsc.edu

 

Alexandria Smart

Undergraduate, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

email: asmart@ucsc.edu

 

 

Former Stone Research Group Members

Name Position in The SRG Current location
Alexandra Ooms junior specialist research assistant, Stanford University
Noel Issad junior specialist, PREP program PhD student, University of Chicago, Cancer Biology
Dr. Salina (Xi) Long graduate student Postdoc, Janelia Farm HHMI, Transcription Imaging Consortium
Dr. Cheng Lu postdoctoral researcher San Jose, CA
Dr. Ben Akiyama graduate student Postdoc, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Dr. Martin Hengesbach Postdoctoral Researcher Universitry of Frankfurt, Germany
John Loper undergraduate, research specialist, M.S. student last seen biking through East Asia
Kevin Najarro undergraduate Research specialist, Johns Hopkins University
Vince Masto undergraduate Research specialist, UCSF
Anastassia Gomez undergraduate, MARC student Ph.D. student UCSD
Josiah Herzog undergraduate Ph.D. student Brandeis University
Hanae Armitage undergraduate Science writing intern, Fermi Lab, Chicago
Miles Minvielle undergraduate  
Amanda Nie undergraduate  
Thomas Brown summer ACCESS student UCLA biophysics major
Corey Short summer ACCESS student UC Berkeley computer science major
Amanda Sanchez summer ACCESS student